Our Members

Our members include Affiliated Unions, the New Zealand Māori Rugby Board, Associate Members and our Life Members.

Affiliated Members

The Affiliated Unions are New Zealand’s 26 Provincial Unions. NZR works with, for and on behalf of these 26 Provincial Unions, while they manage their representative teams and provide rugby administration and services to the clubs and schools in their region.

The Provincial Unions are listed below, divided into New Zealand rugby’s three zones, Northern, Central and Southern. All Provincial Unions are, like New Zealand Rugby itself, incorporated societies.

Northern Zone  Central Zone Southern Zone 

Auckland RU
Bay of Plenty RFU
Counties Manukau RFU   
King Country RFU
North Harbour RFU
Northland RFU
Thames Valley RFU
Waikato RU

East Coast RFU
Hawke’s Bay RFU
Horowhenua Kapiti RFU
Manawatu RFU
Poverty Bay RFU
Taranaki RFU
Wairarapa Bush RFU
Wanganui RFU
Wellington RFU                        

Buller RFU

Canterbury RFU
Mid Canterbury RFU
North Otago RFU
Otago RFU
Rugby Southland
Tasman RU
South Canterbury RFU
West Coast RFU


New Zealand Māori Rugby Board

The New Zealand Māori Rugby Board is responsible for the development of Māori rugby in New Zealand and is the guardian of Tikanga Māori for New Zealand rugby. 

Find out more about the Māori Rugby Board.

Associate Members

NZR's Associate Members are organisations that provide rugby or rugby-related services.

In some cases, such as New Zealand Schools, these organisations assemble teams or administer competitions. In others, these organisations provide other services, such as the Rugby Museum Society, which administers the Rugby Museum in Palmerston North, and the Rugby Foundation, which provides support to players who have suffered serious injuries.

Our Associate Members are:

New Zealand Defence Force Sports Committee
New Zealand Marist Rugby Football Federation
New Zealand Universities Rugby Football Council
New Zealand Rugby Foundation
New Zealand Schools Rugby Council
New Zealand Colleges of Education Rugby Football Federation
New Zealand Deaf Rugby Union
Rugby Museum Society of New Zealand
New Zealand Barbarian Rugby Club

Life Members

Life Members are people from within our rugby community who have been elected in recognition of their exceptional service to rugby in New Zealand.

Following the 2022 Annual General Meeting, New Zealand Rugby has seven Life Members:

Richie Guy (elected 2001)
Eddie Tonks (2004)
Rob Fisher (2011)
John Sturgeon (2012)
Andy Leslie (2015)
Sir Graham Henry (2016)
Richard "Dick" Littlejohn (2018)
Mike Eagle (2019)
Sir Tuifa’asisina Bryan Williams (2022)