h 00108475

WXV is coming: What you need to know

With the stage set for the inaugural WXV 1 Women's Rugby Tournament to take place in New Zealand in October and November, find out everything about this new pinnacle event for the game.


What is it?

The WXV is a revolutionary women's rugby tournament which will see 18 international teams playing each other across three divisions – WXV 1, WXV 2 and WXV 3. The goal of the tournament is to enhance competition, experience, and skill level between Rugby World Cups and create a bigger and brighter future for women's rugby.


So, how does it work? 

It's simple. Eighteen teams split across three different divisions, with the top three teams from Europe's Women’s Six Nations and the top three teams from the World Rugby Pacific Four Series making up WXV 1. The games are played in a cross-pool format in WXV 1, meaning that New Zealand, Australia and Canada sit on one side of the draw and will face England, France and Wales on the other side of the draw. The other two divisions (WXV 2 and WXV 3) are vying to top their division and showcase their talent. For the first cycle of WXV 1 there is no promotion or relegation, however there is for WXV 2 and WXV 3. The bottom-placed team in WXV 2 will drop down a division and the top team in WXV 3 will move up to WXV 2. The stakes will be high from the get-go at WXV.


Where is it being played?

The three divisions are being played in different parts of the world, with WXV 1 hosted in New Zealand, WXV 2 in South Africa (Cape Town) and WXV 3 in the United Arab Emirates (Dubai). With games being played in three diverse parts of the world, women’s rugby will well and truly be on the global map in October and November.


But where are the games taking place in New Zealand?

Games will be played across three locations in New Zealand – Wellington, Dunedin and Auckland. Click HERE for the full match schedule.


What are the big games in WXV 1?

Every game in WXV 1 will be critical for all teams including the World Champion Black Ferns. Our home team starts with a blockbuster against France in Wellington on Saturday 21 October. It will be a rematch of the nail-biting semifinal from Rugby World Cup 2021. The Black Ferns second game is in Dunedin on Saturday 28 October against a formidable Wales side who are hardened through the highly competitive Women’s Six Nations. All eyes will then turn to the Black Ferns final game on Saturday 4 November at Go Media Stadium Mt Smart against Rugby World Cup 2021 finalists England. Brace yourselves for a gripping battle between the two top ranked teams in the world that promises the same intensity and excitement as the unforgettable RWC 2021 final. History will also be made as the inaugural WXV 1 trophy is handed to the winning team at the conclusion of the tournament. 


How can I get among the action?

WXV 1 will bring fun and excitement for the whole whānau across the three venues in Wellington, Dunedin and Auckland. With tickets starting from $25 for adults and $10 for children, as well as weekend passes to see all six teams in action at each venue, quality international sport has never been this accessible. There will be plenty of fun activities and food and beverage options at each venue to satisfy family and friends. Get your tickets HERE to be part of the action!