Test Matches

Learn more about international Test matches and the trophies our teams compete for.

NZR delivers Test matches at stadiums around the country in partnership with Provincial Unions who successfully 'win' Test match hosting tenders.

There is a lot of work involved in putting on a well-run, world-leading Test match, including match, commercial and media operations, as well as hosting VIPs and officials from around the world.

Our people also regularly travel to overseas Test matches to make sure we are delivering at the highest level and to help support and, in some cases, train the delivery teams in those areas.

The All Blacks and Black Ferns share trophies with international sides which are on the line every time the two teams meet for Test matches (not during Rugby World Cups). These include:


The Bledisloe Cup

The Bledisloe Cup prior to the test match between New Zealand and Australia at Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin, New Zealand, Saturday, August 05, 2023.

In 1932, Charles Bathurst – the fourth Governor General of New Zealand and the 1st Viscount Bledisloe, awarded the Bledisloe Cup to symbolise the clashes between New Zealand and Australia. As of 2016, the two teams play in a three-match series, with two of those matches counting towards the Investec Rugby Championship. The All Blacks have held the Bledisloe Cup sine 2003.


The O'Reilly Cup

The O'Reilly Cup ahead of the Black Ferns v Australia Test match, FMG Stadium, Hamilton, on Saturday, 30 September 2023

Formally known as the Laurie O’Reilly Memorial Trophy, the O’Reilly Cup is named in honour of the first Black Ferns selector and coach who was a stalwart of women’s rugby. In 1989 Laurie O’Reilly selected and coached New Zealand’s first national women’s team, which defeated the visiting Pacific Coast Grizzlies. O’Reilly passed away in 1998.

As a challenge trophy, it is up for grabs whenever the Black Ferns take on Australia’s Wallaroos. The Black Ferns have held the O’Reilly Cup since 1994, as the Wallaroos have never defeated the Black Ferns.

O’Reilly Cup matches held in New Zealand are presented by Ryman Healthcare.


The Freedom Cup

The Freedom Cup on display before the match between New Zealand and South Africa in the Lipovitan-D Rugby Championship at Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland, Saturday, July 15, 2023.

The Freedom Cup is contested between New Zealand and South Africa. Introduced in 2004 as part of the 10th anniversary of South Africa’s first democratic election, it is presented to the winner of the annual matches between the two nations – which have traditionally also been Lipovitan-D Rugby Championship fixtures. South Africa has held it twice, winning the inaugral contest in 2004, and again in 2009. The All Blacks claimed the Freedom Cup for the first time in 2006 (it was not contested in 2005), and have held it since 2010. 

The Hillary Shield

The Hillary Shield honours the late Sir Edmund Hillary and his contribution to New Zealand and Great Britain. The Shield was first played for when the All Blacks took on England at Twickenham in 2008. The Shield honours Sir Edmund’s lifetime of achievements as a mountaineer, adventurer, humanitarian, and as a Knight of the Garter. A legendary figure in New Zealand, Sir Edmund was also widely respected in the UK and around the world as the climber who, with Sherpa Tenzing Norgay, made the first successful ascent of Mount Everest in 1953 as part of a British climbing expedition. The All Blacks have held the Shield since 2013.

David Gallaher Cup

The David Gallaher Cup (Le Coupe de David Gallaher) is contested between New Zealand and France, with the trophy going to the winner of any particular Test series or one-off match between the two nations. The Cup commemorates Dave Gallaher who was Captain of the famous 1905-06 All Blacks and later died from his wounds at Passchendaele in 1917. It was first played for in 2000. New Zealand won the first series. They defended the trophy six times until the French claimed the trophy in 2009 (the All Blacks won it back later that year) and the All Blacks have held the trophy since. If the Series is tied, then the holder is determined by points differential.